SLPlearning

By SLPlearning

Beginnings are usually scary...

'Hi everyone, my name is Yvonne and the title of this piece is exactly how I felt the first time I went to one of the 100 Learners' Voices events-my local worker said come along and you can tell politicians what you want for adult learning.
 
I was terrified we sat at a big table, half of the people I knew but the other half were strangers. I was absolutely not going to speak I told myself what would I have to say to anyone and who would listen?
 
What happened next was my all-time worst nightmare, the instruction from the organisers can you stand up and go chat to someone you've never met and tell them what you're learning and why you enjoy it, we did that four times then sat beside people we'd never met to have table discussions. What can I say, I found my voice that day, several voices actually and I was appointed spokesperson for the table.
 
I decided to stand up to ask my question-and as I stood up my hands were shaking, and although I was petrified I was secretly proud of myself-do I know what the MPS answer was to my question-yes I remember it word for word.
 
Adult learning is vital for our communities, families, work and society-we believe it should be recognised and funded appropriately. 
 
If I had my chance again, I'd say show us the money-because we're still waiting.
 
My worker was really proud of me going from a scared wee thing that morning to a determined spokesperson for adult learning. She was right when she told me to remember that famous saying: Beginnings are usually scary, endings are usually sad, but it's what's in the middle that counts. I know I’m definitely going to make my middle count-with adult learning’s help.
 
We're holding voices events during lockdown, and there will be 100 but we're doing them 10 at a time to make sure we all get a chance to talk. Our first one is later this week and I can't wait.
 
Adult learning is important in our community and I really want to help people understand what is does for people. 
 
I know I’ll be asked to write more later, and I’ll do that because that's another thing, since that first meeting I've learned to write better'.
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.