simisue

By simisue

CALANDRINIA spectabilis: Rock Purslane

Succulents are all the rage here in California, because they are easy to grow, drought tolerant, and very hardy..  My favorite succulent is 
ROCK PURSLANE, a native of Chile.  The blue-grey rosettes are not that exciting, but in April-May, when its hot pink, poppy-like flowers bloom & float over the flower bed, then it is "spectabilis."   They are the most stunning in large groupings, like in my EXTRA. 

ROCK PURSLANE is a short lived evergreen perennial, that likes almost any kind of soil, but gritty or sandy best, as long as it is well drained.  It will grow happily in a pot, flower bed  or a rock garden with full sun.  It is tolerant of dry periods; in fact it does not like a lot of water, especially in Winter. It attracts birds, bees &  butterflies, but is also deer resistant & in my yard, rabbit resistant. 

I have a few along my front walkway, where the afternoon sun is merciless, & in the backyard flower bed, with less punishing hot sun.  I would like to add more, but they are not easy to find.  In my research, i read they can be propagated by cuttings, which I am going to try.  Fingers crossed....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.