The Beautiful/Awful Weed

The Mimosa Tree, Albizia julibrissin, is a tree that I hate to love, or love to hate! It's a highly invasive introduced species originally brought to the U.S. in 1745 from China and cultivated since then as an ornamental. It's a deciduous medium-sized tree in the legume family that can reach 20'-40'. It spreads easily by both roots and seeds. The seed pods are very light weight and fly everywhere with a gust of wind! It's lacy leaves and beautiful blossoms make it popular with people who don't understand the destruction it can cause to native trees since it quickly takes over their habitat. There are several Mimosa Trees growing at the DogPark, and this photo is of one of them. I pull out their seedlings as soon as I spot them in our yard but learned long ago that I'm not able to 'police' the entire neighborhood. As much as I would like to! :(
 I do hope that you and your loved ones are well!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.