Tiny Planets

I was browsing my Blipfoto "Following" feed when I came across one by Jorgiesmum who was experimenting with soap bubbles, and it inspired me to seek out some instructions and have go myself.

For my attempt I used 1 tablespoon glycerin and 2 tablespoons of washing-up liquid in a half cup of water.  The "recipe" is supposed to be left ovenight, but I was too impatient to wait, and managed to blow some bubbles with a straw which held their shape for a minute or so. I used a black velvet background and LED light through a diffuser as lighting, but had to up the ISO to get a reasonable shutter speed and aperture. Next time I need to dig out the flash, and work out how to use it!

The result is like some of those colourful NASA images of planets you see sometimes (another in extra), but of course tiny in relative size, hence my title, and  entry to today's Tiny Tuesday challenge hosted by wrperry!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.