Ristosan's Journal

By ristosan

Let It Be

by the Beatles

This morning I had a very exciting encounter with elks. As I was taking my standard early morning walk (about 5 km in total, our cottage as the starting and ending point) turning a curve on a gravel road I suddenly noted an elk running away to the right into the forest. I tried to get a decent shot but failed. Turning back to the road I was astonished to see a baby elk, a few days old, standing and moving still quite clumsily on its long legs in the middle of the road (extra). It clearly had no idea where the mommy elk had disappeared. It stood, took some steps, even some running steps towards me: I was not too happy about that as I anticipated that the mom would return. In about 2 minutes she did return, giving me a stern look (the blip) and inviting the baby to follow her. It did and they walked into the forest.

I chose Let it be for the soundtrack as I thought that the lyrics could have fitted the baby elk so well: "When I find myself in times of trouble, mother Mary comes to me..."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.