Border Tails

By Swannie

Cheers!

It’s my Dad’s birthday today, his eightieth, and we had to cancel the big family do that was planned on Sunday past due to lockdown. Today he told us all to have a drink in his honour at half past five. We all took selfies and posted them on the Swan Chat group on WhatsApp. My selfie shows my neighbour, Christine and I both raising a glass, but observing social distancing.

I phoned him a bit later and he said he’d had a lovely day and the phone hadn’t stopped ringing. For his birthday tea he’d had mince and Jersey Royal potatoes, his favourites, and had popped a wee bottle of Moët and Chandon as it’s not every day he turns eighty.

I have included his selfie in extras, just so that I have it on record. None of us look particularly good in the selfies, but it marks the occasion in my journal.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.