Life on the Good Intent

By ClydeBorn

Killermont Street

Everyone needs to belong and I belong to Glasgow.

I had to go through after a busy morning in the lab for a meeting on quality improvement - the start of a progress to assess the quality indicators and set targets to improve our service to patients.
After the meeting I met my dear friend M in Central Station to go for a meal then a Celtic Connections Gig. A rousing concert, Songs of Struggle, featuring many familiar faces and some heart rending unaccompanied songs by Sheena Wellington and Siobhan Miller. M and I remember the amazing Fraser Spiers when we all worked in the same hospital, Rab Noakes did one of my favourite Dylan songs 'Dignity' and they finished off with a rousing Woodie Guthrie finale. The red Clydesider blood was fairly pumping in my veins as we left.

I wanted to blip the stunning facade of the Mitchell Theatre but Glasgow being Glasgow someone I hardly knew insisted on giving us a lift along to where my car was parked. I love my home town and it was so nice to be in an audience where I knew people and recognised faces. My friend J who I hadn't spoken to for a while was there with her sister, it really was nice nice to feel I belonged somewhere again.
Sitting at the traffic lights at the top of Renfield Street near the site of the Apollo I thought back to all the bands I saw there in the 70s and 80s. Next lights I looked over to the Royal Concert Hall as the outside broadcast crews were packing up, oh what memories these places hold. The clouds parted and the moon broke through over Killermont St, just as Ian Anderson played Boo Hewerdine's 'the Girl who Fell in Love with the Moon', perfect timing. So this is my blip, seen through tears. Live music always heightens my emotions and being home makes it worse, I hope the drivers on M80 didn't see the tears glistening on my face.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.