atoll

By atoll

The Chocolate Truffle Meringue Cake

God bless our beautiful J on her 21st birthday today, and whilst on that subject, god bless Nigela's Chocolate Truffle Meringue Cake, as was lovingly crafted by my own MrsB's hands. I at least had had the good sense to provide the diamanté Happy Birthday. I find it is these little flourishes that make all the difference.

Spending the night over at mum's in Silsden tonight. Before that we went out for a simple but lovely meal at the restaurant Martha & Vincent's in Ilkley. Sister Julie, brother-in-law Mike, and his brother Richard joined the small party of mum, me, MrsB and J. This restaurant was the place mum and dad used to like to come to a lot, but my mum hadn't wanted to eat here since dad died in 2011. Tonight was a great a reason as ever to break that sad association for mum and move on. We had a great time. I suspected as far as J was concerned this was just the tame warm up. A series of parties begin over in Sheffield from tomorrow I understand. Thank goodness the January exams are over.

Sitting in the restaurant tonight though, and looking out, I saw a posse of runners suddenly streak past (well, not literally), heading down The Grove. Could it possibly have been the great Spartan and Mrjohn out with the Ilkley Harriers I thought? I will check my blips tomorrow, but it would be nice to think so.

I was on taxi duty tonight and so left largely drinking iced water all night. Back home we all decided to crack one last bottle of Tesco's Best Champagne as a night cap. My lightweight girls were all off to bed before midnight though. Nothing left for it but polish off the rest of the Fizz all on my lonesome. It's a tough life.

Whilst doing so, I listened for the first time to the excellent Mark Radcliffe's Music Club on Radio 2. Unsurprisingly, the big stand out for me tonight was A Great Northern River by the Unthanks. It just had to be.

Postscript: Cake recipe link here!.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.