brambleblossom

By brambleblossom

Smeuse - Sussex dialect

I started reading a book today about the language of landscapes ( Robert Macfarlane). I discovered the word Smeuse which is a word in Sussex dialect that means 
“ a gap under a fence or hedge made by the regular passage 
Of a small animal.”
When I saw these perfect examples, on our early evening walk,  I just had to take a picture . 

Unfortunately, shortly after Dave tripped as he climbed over a style and injured his shoulder, probably dislocated. He is now in A and E awaiting treatment . I wasn’t allowed in , so am at home waiting for a call to fetch him . It was horrid leaving him and really brings home how truly awful it is for those whose loved ones are seriously ill and need to be in hospital . 
It seemed fairly quiet so hopefully he will be seen quickly . 
Oh dear , an unfortunate end to a lovely, sunny day .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.