Kendall is here

By kendallishere

The whole world comes to the mountain

While I was waiting for my video call with Bella this morning, six “Chinook” helicopters flew overhead (link here tells how racist stereotypes underlie the naming of helicopters for Native Peoples by the US American military-industrial complex). Update: Arachne found the answer to what they were up to. It was particularly notable because we haven't heard vehicles overhead for a couple of months, and then suddenly a skyfull of them. 

Other than this evidence of US American violence, it was a splendid day. Bella wants to study France, and I had located a few videos for her, but she said, “I know you lived there when my Dad was a little boy. I just want to hear you talk about it, Baba. I’d rather listen to you than watch a video.” Blow me over with a feather.

More joy later in the day: a dance video made by the Alvin Ailey dancers in their own homes (there have been other similar videos, but this one is my favorite). Noodling around on the Alvin Ailey website I then found this marvelous thirteen-minute dance workshop that loosened me up and gave me stretch and a pleasure in movement that I haven’t known in ages. All without leaving my apartment. I felt, as the full moon rose over the city, the wonder of being the mountain that the world came to, today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.