Photo-a-day retirement

By mpp26

Black stilt feeding

Have been wanting to go to the Ashley estuary for ages, so when I couldn't sleep last night I got up and went out for sunrise, though really I was there for the birds.  Sunrise was nice, but not dramatic - have added a couple of images in Extras of that, and 3 others of birds. It was a stunning morning, and I enjoyed it, but did really miss Blipper flying, obviously we can't go together at the moment, being in different bubbles. Hopefully soon we can go together and that will be lovely.

I couldn't believe this black stilt - one of the world's rarest birds, (132 birds in the wild in 2018) was feeding and doing really well - it had impaled this crustacean on its lower beak, and did eventually eat it all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.