Home & Away

By HeidiAndDolly

Lockdown Day 44 - Looking For Beauty

Today was another beautiful day, warmer than yesterday, and we are supposed to have great weather all week before another cold spell comes on Sunday (with snow even!  Not here, thankfully, but up north maybe).

I went to pick up some shopping from Sainsbury’s and actually drove with the top down on the car. That was a real treat because the convertible mechanism hadn’t worked for 2 years and my new mechanic diagnosed the problem and did the very simple fix in January, so I was very happy to put the top down for the first time in 3 years today!  Now I hope the car will last me a couple of more years at least so I can enjoy it a while longer.

I had a casual Zoom coffee morning with some people from church when I got home, and tried to get a few things done in the afternoon. I do struggle with motivation. I had my usual late afternoon in the sun (see yesterday’s blip) and after dinner I went down to the lake.

I almost blipped another lake picture but decided to post this dandelion picture instead. Why?  I guess because I was mulling over how thankful I am that I enjoy simple pleasures and things of beauty. And that this will hopefully help during upcoming days (months/years) of austerity. One doesn’t need to spend lots of money in order to enjoy life and be entertained!  I get so much pleasure in walking and being in nature. There are so many beautiful things to see if we look for them. Even fleeting weedy dandelion heads!
(See extra photo for today's lake view)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.