Clematis

Quite cloudy today but warm and fairly muggy...not so nice for walking in but at least it’s dry!

One of my other hobbies is genealogy and I was recently contacted via Ancestry by a distant cousin who was descended from the sister of my Great Grandfather. In the course of correspondence I mentioned I had a photo which we believed to be of her Great Grandmother...she said she’d love to see it as they had no photos of her. Yesterday I finally got around to sending it and very quickly got a reply with another picture attached which had come from their family bible...almost certainly the same person and quite a distinctive necklace(see extra). I’m thinking our picture on the left may have been taken on her wedding day...in the big house of the estate they all lived and worked on. Lovely to have solved a mystery for someone else :-)

Today’s abstract is a multi exposure of two of our clematis which have just started to flower. We have four different ones attached to the house on trellises which had become very overgrown and shapeless so last year I cut them back very hard not knowing whether they’d survive or not..all four are doing very well and the purple one is the first to flower. The pink one is a new purchase last year which daughter planted in a flower bed when it arrived whilst we were away...it needs transplanted to a more suitable position now!

Thanks to Ingeborg for hosting Abstract Thursday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.