Friends and relations

In my tidying through I came across my mother's and her own mother's handwritten recipe books. They made me smile as all of us have sticky pages on the cake recipes but the 'nutritious' pages are pristine. I think you could easily deduce where our priorities lay!

The other thing that struck me was the handing around of information between women. I know Grandma loved her membership of the WI and suspect that's where many of hers came from (although the marmalade recipe is actually my mother's!). Equally, Mum was a great quilter and the punch recipe is from a lovely American lady who joined their group during the time she spent in the UK due to her husband's job.

There is also the blessing of seeing the so-familiar handwriting; a tug to the heart.

So, today LH had a sore back/shoulder and had to lie down most of the day to rest it. Unfortunately, there's little improvement and the tweaking lady he usually gets to sort it out is obviously unavailable. He's suffering sleepless nights too but does it the other way round to me, waking up in the small hours and unable to get back to sleep.

I've been to-ing and fro-ing to him, plus offloading Berry's frozen raw food (she really doesn't like it, despite all my efforts!) to a lady who has temporarily taken on a rescue. I now have a great gap in my freezer which doubtless I'll fill soon!

A fiddly bit of patchwork completed (part of a bigger piece), dog training, washing, ironing ... one of those days.

And it's still sunny ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.