Building Sn3 and N Worlds

By Stationmaster

Feed Warehouse gets windows and doors

Today the paint was dry, and I installed the windows, freight doors, and entrance door.  The clamps are for a window that did not want to stay put.  The black box by the second freight door is something new for me.  I am adding a small interior scene in the warehouse because it is right on the front edge of the layout and you can see in easily.  Just not the whole place so I did not have to build the whole interior.

I built a small black box out of foam core, and attached it to the wall centered on the open freight door.  Then I installed floor boards that go under the door to the outer edge.  To give the appearance of stacks of feed bags, I found a couple of images on Google and printed them at a reduced size on my color printer.  Then trimmed around the edges and mounted them on small scraps of foam core.  I will be adding a figure and some scale bags on the floor as well.  Hopefully there is enough light coming into the door to illuminate the little scene.  We will see.  When finished I will blip it.

Next step - use my "chopper" and cut the roofing into 10' scale lengths for the roof.  That is the long strips on the cardboard.  They have several airbrush passes with rust and colors, but need some dry brushing.  I put on the foam core roof panels sitting in the back (left) and then glue down each 10' piece.

Finally - I need to weather the whole structure.  I usually do this when each wall is on the bench, but this way is easier for a scratch build.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.