tempus fugit

By ceridwen

I have mostly been...

I seem not to have blipped for a week.  Apologies to anyone who has noticed and wondered.

I have mostly been in the garden. At this time of the year the urge to grow vegetables is impossible to resist. Never mind that my garden
-has thin stony soil
-is riddled with weeds, both perennial and annual
-is shaded for the most part by trees
-harbours slugs and snails in profusion
and so on (gardeners love to complain)

I've never actually had 'an easy garden' but they must exist. I know how fortunate I am to have one at all.

Along with the gratification derived from  handling the earth, riddling compost,  stuffing weeds into bags to rot down, waiting for seeds to germinate (or not), transplanting seedlings in the hope they will survive, checking for molluscs and caterpillars and cabbage root fly (my particular hate), recycling and upcycling old things, watering and tending - apart from all that there's the  constant physical work-out involved in bending, lifting, stretching, squatting, carrying, balancing and walking briskly to and fro. 
And the bird song and the bee buzz and the butterflight.

And at the end of it all there MIGHT be some vegetables. 

Lockdown, what lockdown?? Where else could I want to be?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.