Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

A Poppy for VE Day

On 8th May 1945, 75 years ago today, Nazi Germany unconditionally surrendered to the Allies, bringing the end of World War II in Europe. Although fighting continued, in particular in the war with Japan, and the effects of war lasted many years, it was the signal for celebration and relief.

As with many plans for this year so far, today's celebrations of the 75th Anniversary with a Bank Holiday in the UK, have been curtailed by COVID-19, yet as I took my exercise walk through the estate I saw flags and bunting, and suitably social distanced street (front garden) parties.

My contribution is this Poppy for Remembrance. I spotted them earlier in the week growing around a round-about on the edge of the estate. It was the obvious choice to today, and my submission to BikerBear's Flower Friday Challenge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.