gremlin1066

By Jockanese

#VEDay75

Our street had a socially distanced VE day celebration. Our contribution was the naval ensign (no bunting!) cake and bubbles. We got to meet more of our neighbours, including our old tenants who have just moved round the corner!!

Today I was thinking of my grandad who served on HM ships Malaya and Valiant in the second world war. When we asked him what he did onboard, he always said he made the sandwiches. I thought he was maybe a chef. After finding some photos my mum had, it’s more probable he was a gunner. Shows how much he didn’t really want to talk about it.  

He was one of the reasons I joined the Navy.  

More importantly, thank you to all who got the allied forces through the war, to celebrate a victory like this.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.