Wow! What a Day on the Firth.

The gales started at mid afternoon yesterday and grew in strength. They didn't let up all night and were exactly the same today. The Kessock Bridge was closed to high sided vehicles and still is. At lunch time at high tide I took a trip westward along the Beauly Firth. The firth was covered in white capped breakers and the ducks were staying close to shore as the large waves pounded the shoreline. The Black Headed Gulls and Common Gulls were taking off, but going nowhere. They were just hanging in the wind. At Coulmore on the northern shore of the firth I saw this Cormorant standing on this grass clump at the edge of the water and I took some photo's before proceeding along the firth to Redcastle, about 3 miles. I then turned and came back, stopping many times to marvel at the force of the waves. The Cormorant was still standing in the same place. I stopped and reeled off some shots, trying to get the intensity of the rolling breaking waves. I did manage and thought this shot best summed up the spirit of the weather on our normally calm firth. So my Diver wasn't diving today!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.