A gorgeous garden visitor

We had the pleasure of a male Rose-Breasted Grosbeak in our garden today. I have not seen one in at least 20 years. Late this afternoon he posed for me and I was absolutely thrilled. We really hope he decides to stay. They eat sunflower seeds, cracking them masterfully with that massive beak.

I saw him from the rear this morning and at first I thought it was a Towhee, when he turned and I gasped when I saw his rose breast feathers. I took some terrible shots through the window, and was just thrilled to have seen him. T and I watched him with the binoculars for a bit and off he flew. Later, early evening I was making dinner and T spied him again. This time I was able to get much closer and took some decent shots. We hope he decides to stay. His mate is brown and plain, nothing at all like him except for her massive beak. She was no where in sight, but I shall be looking.

You can see some more Grosbeak shots in the Extras.   Also the male Oriole shot I was thinking of using as my blip until this gorgeous guy reappeared.


For the Record,
This day came in icy cold with rain and some SNOW flurries and a wild wind.


All hands still wary

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.