Its the Way It Is

By Jeano

Eliza and Esmeralda

Little Eliza Elephant was weeping.  She is called Little by her mammy because, although she weighs over 1000 kgs, she is still young.

"Why are you so sad, Little Eliza", her mammy asked her

"I'm sad,    I'm sad,  she stammered (because it's very difficult to talk and weep at the same time -   this is a known fact, even in the human world).     "I'm sad because Esmeralda SBM is dead"

The mother was puzzled, but waited a few minutes before she enquired further.    "Who is Esmeralda SBM?" she asked.

"Esmeralda SBM was my best friend"

"But I don't know any young elephants with that name" said the mother thoughtfully.

At this Little Eliza stopped sobbing.

"Is she from another herd?   Do they share out watering hole?"   asked mother who was getting curiouser by the minute.

"No mammy, she was not an elephant"

"What did you say, darling.  Not an elephant!   That can't be.   We only mix with our own type"    

Little Eliza was starting to feel nervous but she didn't know why.   And she knew her mother would not stop questioning until she knew the facts, so she braced herself for what she now felt was the first awkward moment of their blissful relationship.

"Little Eliza, I am waiting for you to tell me what species your friend was".  

And there followed a prolonged silence as Little Eliza searched within herself to find the words to be honest and brave and to make that first big step into the adult world.    This would be the first test of the strong bond which existed between mother and daughter.  Although she didn't fully understand the significance of her chosen friendship, she knew that it fell somehow outside of what was expected of her as a good daughter and now she must face her mother and tell her the truth.  This was the moment when the young elephant would have to show her true nature.

"Well, I am waiting" said her mammy  a huge, beautiful, hulking, African elephant, weighing almost 2,500 kgs.)

"Esmeralda SBM's full name was Esmeralda Small Brown Mouse".

(dear reader, I can't even begin to describe accurately the scene that followed)

The mother screeched and roared, fanned her huge ears, kicking up a sandstorm in their desert habitat as she reeled around in shock and rage.

"Did you say mouse?      Did you?  Did you?     Did I hear you say that a mouse was your best friend?"

The mother extended her trunk and roared to the other females in the herd to come and comfort her in her need.   

She turned to her daughter and roared  "Don't you know that mice are our sworn enemy.  Since the beginning of time we have avoided them, run from them, stayed away from their habitat.   Little Eliza didn't you know that your friend was a dangerous, fearless, aggressive creature?"

"No mammy. no mammy.    Esmeralda SBM was very dear to me.  We talked and laughed and shared tiny pieces of fruit together every day.  We had such a good time and she told me about her mammy and daddy and where she lived and what she learnt.  She was told that elephants are stupid, dirty creatures and never to go near them.    It was a long time before we could admit to being friends because we were supposed to be enemies.     She told me I wasn't stupid or dirty - she told me I was beautiful.   I told her she was beautiful too".

Little Eliza was so overcome that she started to weep again.   Her mother loved her dearly and wanted to explain to her what being an elephant meant.   "You know it is our tradition to hate mice.  Our fore-mothers have passed this onto us and we must accept it unquestioningly".

"But mammy I don't understand traditions.  Do traditions tell us we can only like or love certain creatures not all creatures?  Do we not all share the same land?  That we all have mammies and daddies and homes and jobs to do and food to find? What is the difference between me and Esmeralda ?"

"Look little daughter, I just know that certain things must be believed without question in this life.  Do you understand?"

What followed was a long but reflective and ultimately defining pause as the two elephants gazed at each other.

"No mammy, I do not understand or accept this.  My friend was dear to me and I know that when I get older I will have friends wherever I find kindness and fun and gentleness".

"But Little Eliza, don't you know you will be seen as a rebel and possibly be made an outcast from the herd.  I beg you to conform to our traditions and stay safe and protected by the strength of our beliefs".

Little Eliza stared back at her mother but once again the tears flowed from her eyes... but for another reason.  She realised that her life was not going to be easy because she had just made an important decision.  This had indeed been a sad day for her



******


I had an early swim but the weather is cold in Dublin today and it has been rainy.   A bit of a grey day really.   

The brief we were given in the writer's group was to write a story for children but to base it on a well known philosophical concept.  This story is based on Plato's Cave which illustrates that we are all bound by largely unfounded traditions, habits, templates for living which were handed down by the hierarchy who wished to control and manipulate us (the ignorant masses).    I also referenced the film The Matrix (blue pill or red pill etc.) as a further example of the cave mentality.    Little Eliza dared question the status quo and she would most likely have been dispelled from the herd. 

I need to polish it up a bit.   I asked the admin of the group could we introduce a visual with our story, but that was not warmly greeted (ha ha) so I guess not.  They won't get to see sweet Eliza and Esmeralda - they will just have to use their imaginations.


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SWlUKJIMge4


https://www.elephantsforafrica.org/elephant-facts/

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.