Are we there yet?

By CMHW

Flora, Fauna, Timepieces?

I love the beautiful and diverse plant, bird, pet and wildlife photography that we see daily on Blipfoto. During this decidedly unwelcome pandemic it’s not surprising that these subject prevail as half the planet is on lockdown.

However, I suspect nearly all of us own timepieces which we enjoy, cherish for all sorts of disparate reasons. So I’m wondering if it’s interesting to post images of clocks, watches etc that have some story/meaning to their owners.

This is my daily wearer which I purchased after being lucky enough to have visited the extraordinary continent of Antarctica in early 2014. The watch, appropriately called Terra Nova, was produced in a limited edition specifically for an actual record breaking Antarctic expedition which also occurred in early 2014. I had read about the watch before I embarked on my own journey and even though it took me another two years to get one, I eventually managed to secure one of the remaining two still available. The story of the expedition is below and the extra images I took whilst on my own journey to Antarctica.

In early 2014, renowned British polar explorer Ben Saunders and his team mate Tarka L’Herpiniere rewrote history with their world record-breaking Antarctic expedition. One of the most ambitious polar expeditions in a century, it marked the first time Captain Robert Falcon Scott’s ill-fated Terra Nova expedition had ever been completed. For four months, the pair trekked 1,795 miles across Antarctica’s inhospitable landscape on a return journey from Scott’s Terra Nova Hut on the north shore of Ross Island to the South Pole. In doing so, they also set the world record for the longest polar journey on foot. Walking an average of 17 miles daily in temperatures as low as -46°C, they hauled their own supplies by sled - a weight of almost 200kg. On the outside of their polar jackets the two polar explorers wore their new Bremont Terra Nova chronometers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.