lindanass

By lindanass

I'm posting this pic , not for the quality or fantastic 'shot' but more for the story . Yesterday, Sunday , I spent most of the day, unwell in bed. I couldn't sleep because a bird was making an almighty din. Hubby totally oblivious.  
So at seven thirty in the evening I had the brilliant idea of looking in the attic. Fully expecting to see a Starling chick as we have two lots that nest in the attic, each year. 
I discovered a baby sparrow,  somehow had got in between the bathroom ceiling and attic. After much kerfuffle ( of taking part of the bathroom ceiling down  )  I   caught it but then could hear a ' scuffling' in the felt on the roof. Big surprise ( when I slide my hand under the felt) a full grown adult starling! I managed to put it in a small net with a small chopping board, keeping it retained. Hubby doing a panicicked jig, scared bless him, he's only six  feet tall.
We let the adult go straight away and I kept the baby warm until this morning.  I released it in the garden and thankfully,  Mum came and fed it , several times. So all the kerfuffle was worth it. I love a happy ending!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.