caitielou

By caitielou

Festi'Nordic

In Savoie, elementary schools don't have classes on Wednesdays; they go to school only 4 days a week. Thats why Spencer and I don't work on Wednesdays. However, the schools use that time to organize training sessions and classes for the teachers frequently. Today my coordinator, Sylvie, had to attend a training sessions for teaching math (boring!) from 9h00-12h00, so I babysat her 5 year old daughter in the morning while she was gone. Juliette and I had breakfast together, then we read a book in English called The Mitten, I got her to brush her teeth and put on clothes, which was no small feat mind you. Then we played pretend with her baby dolls and gave them baths, got them dressed, and fed them breakfast as well. All her dolls are named Bébé. Then we went downstairs to have a snack and draw some pictures to give to Maman when she got home. I taught her to draw ladybugs and she taught me how to say ladybug in French (une coccinelle), a fair trade I think. Then we played made-up marble games until Sylvie got home. Not a bad morning, a nice change from the usual thing.

For the afternoon Spencer skied on his own and I went with Sylvie and Juliette to Peisey Vallandry to a Nordic sports festival that was put on for free by the Conseil Général for the public to try different winter sports. They had horse-pulled sleighs, les chiens traineaux (husky-pulled sleds), snow shoeing, cross country skiing, and biathlon. We signed up for biathlon (I'm a great shot, as it turns out), snow shoeing, and les chiens traineaux. There were three seats in the sled and Juliette sat in front with me in the middle and Sylvie behind. Look at the sheer glee on this kid's face! Sylvie and I had the same expression, I am sure. It was really fun and those dogs go fast.

Now I have to go because Spencer is waiting for me to sit and eat the wonderful dinner he cooked. Love my life....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.