Undercovercairo

By Undercovercairo

Grateful for my evening beach walks.

Lots of walking today. Set off for the currency exchange place just after 9am. Hot! A 30 minute walk in 37C. Your visa has expired. Yes, I said. Renew it online they said. Not possible I replied. They changed my money but wouldn’t let me transfer it. I don’t understand why, the website says I can. A 15 min walk to the supermarket. The human body is amazing; despite the heat my temp was 36. Got some nice berries, and essentials. No taxi to be found, except one in the distance but I chose not to.. some expat communities are carrying Corona more than others. I eventually got a taxi home. A nice, older gentleman. I should’ve kept his number for future use.
As it’s Ramadan I couldn’t be seen to be drinking in public (nor eating). It made me remember my students, and especially the women, in Egypt who’d travel for an hour or two to get to English classes. They’d come on old, overcrowded trains, or cramped unroadworthy micro buses that never stopped at (clean) facilities. They’d travel like this on baking summer days, and wouldn’t drink water whether it was Ramadan or not. These women had to dress in Islamic fashion with headscarves and full length skirts and shirts, often with a jumper or raincoat to achieve a desired level of cover. This was done so as not to bring shame on themselves. How they managed with these layers was beyond belief. You soon realise that you have little to mumble about during Ramadan if you can’t drink water for a while..
I needed a shower but it was very hot. It was 1130am and I didn’t need to heat the water.. comes from tanks on the roof..
a chat with a good friend from home, TV, the walk - had to share my beach with familiar faces, dinner, tv, bed.
Kw8 goes into full lockdown tomorrow for 20 days. Panic buying in shops everywhere today. They’re allowed to walk locally for 2 hours before Iftar. I miss my friends but glad I’m not there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.