Two Metres

Following yesterday's speech by Boris Johnson it looks as though I will be back in school on 1st June as I work in Year 1 but if we have to maintain the 2 metre rule it is going to be a nightmare as the children are still very young and still sometimes still need reassurance someone in one of my education groups on Facebook posted this poem written by a Reception teacher Siobhan Cunliffe and I think it is very appropriate for us Early Years staff.
TWO METRES.
It's lovely to see your face today,
It's been a while since we've been in school
Pleaae don't try to hug me
We have a two metre rule.
I bet you're glad to see your friends
They're glad to see you too
Please don't share the toys with them
We have a two metre rule.
Let's go outside and play some games
We'll go on the climbing frame too
But I can't help you when you hurt your knee
We have a two metre rule.
You've worked so hard on your Lego tower
You've asked me to build the roof
But we can't share the blocks today
We have a two metre rule.
At dinner time you can load your plate with lots of lovely food
But I can't help you with your knife and fork
We have a two metre rule.
I can see on your face that you're worried
I can see that you're confused
Things are different here now
It's not the classroom you once knew.
But this would never happen
We care to much for you
Wiping tears, making you feel safe
It's what we're here to do.
It's not your fault it happened
It's not what you would choose
So know that we're right here with you
What two metre rule?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.