Collage 1 A Walk Over Several Days.

It is 0015 0n the 12th May and I intend to post two collages to wind up my " A Walk Over Several Days " series. I have further images to use for a further series of a walk. That will cover carrying on walking from the Church to the Roman Mile Fortlet at Swarthy Hill and then the return to Crosby.
I have decided to do this second series in winter, hoping to remind viewers of the fantastic weather we have experienced these past few weeks.
In this collage, the main elements are the Lychgate in the top image. This set of gates played a pivotal role in village Weddings, the children of the parish would chain the gates shut, while the service was being conducted and when the Bride and Groom wanted to leave, The Best Man and any other attendees who wished to help had to throw coins over the gate for the children to collect before the gate was unlocked. I am sure other village Churches with Lychgates have similar rituals.

The Lower Image shows a part building on the right-hand side. This is the building I have mentioned that was used by Monks who ran the church. It is now part of the farmhouse.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.