Martyn

By Martyn

Oooh...

..new shoes boots.

If my friend Ryan and I are even vaguely serious about doing 52 Munros this year then proper footwear is a must.

Bennachie, our training hill to date, has been tackled in a pair of trainers and, in the snow, in a slightly more waterproof pair of trainers. Not sure that they'd neccessarily be suitable elsewhere.

There's another lesson learned too. NEVER take kids shopping. EVER.

I was asked to pick up my nephew on the way home from work. Seeing as his nursery is just round the corner from the office I'd have felt bad saying no. So we bundled ourselves into the car and dissapeared to a couple of shops. Whilst trying on said boots he decided, being 4 and knowing better, that running away and hiding in the store would be a bit of a laugh. Luckily Sports Direct staff spied him hiding in a pile of jackets or he'd still be there now.

Eventually reclaimed and with boots paid for I decided to head next door to TK Maxx. This resulted in a similarly frustrating game of hiding and seek while I looked at waterproof trousers. Gave up the hunt in the end and decided someone needed to go home.

Hint taken young Harvey, hint taken.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.