The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Looking back

The tawny owl flew across our path as we descended the south side of the Knott, through the dense yews and beeches.  It landed on a branch to give me a long lingering look over its shoulder, while I fumbled with the lens cap, waiting long enough for me to snatch a few unlikely shots in the shade.  I was impressed that with a barely perceptible shift of perch position, it rotated its head through almost 360 degrees from a look over the left shoulder to a look over the right.  Then it was gone, still calling but invisible in deep cover.

It was a walk of encounters. The first was with Knottman on the top of the Knott, who hailed me as Gus and I were heading down hill from what he calls the giraffes.  Knottman is a wise owl of considerable energy, but it is unusual to seem him on the Knott at this time in the morning.  Looking back through his blips, I found the reason. It's his annual ritual of climbing the Knott in the early morning, part of the celebrations for another year spent on our beautiful planet. Happy Birthday, Ken!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.