Two steps forward...

By stevvi

Egret

Having had a ridiculously long lie in for me, until 7.30am today, I'd missed the best of the morning light but noted low tide was at 10.30am, which gave me time to have my coffee(s), shower, dress and get out of the house... all at a very civilised pace. It was bright and sunny so decided to take a walk out on the estuary mud flats from Chalkwell Beach. Those that are familiar with the area will know there's a rundown path out past the Crow Stone to The Ray, a place often frequented by kite and wind surfers when the tide is out. It was glorious out there and I could have happily stayed all day if tides didn't turn.

I took a fair few photos, some were decent too, but on the way back to shore there was this egret fishing in one of the channels by the path. Having approached slowly it didn't seem to mind me being there at all so I snapped away as it waded it's way down the channel out to sea. The lighting conditions were tricky... bright sun, white bird and shooting into the sun to boot, but after a bit of fiddling I think this one works well :)

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.