angellightphoto

By angellightphoto

bridehead revisited

...once last night's rain had finally cleared, we were treated to a beautiful sunny day. Yesterday's postponed trip to Weymouth was successfully accomplished and my horribly spotted D700 sensor is in for a spring clean.

I was surprised and delighted to receive an email from the tenant at Woolbridge Manor, asking if I had any other images of it taken during the snow. As it happens, I only took the one frame because I would have needed access to get any better compositions. I am hoping I may now get an invite...

We took the long route to Weymouth, this morning, because I had a particular plan for today's image. On the 21st Jan, I blipped Came House, Winterborne Came and, on the 22nd Jan, I blipped Winterborne Herringston. Bridehead in Littlebredy has connections to both.

Both the house and village take their names from the river Bride, which rises in this dip in front of the house. Just out of shot is an artificial lake that cascades over a delightful waterfall before heading off to meet the sea at Burton Bradstock.

The manor is recorded as Litelbridia in the Domesday Book and shown as belonging to Cerne Abbey. The existing house was built by Sir Robert Mellor, of Came House above, in the late 16th century. The manor continued to be owned by Mellors until 1730, when it was sold to William Meech of Charminster. In the late 18th century, his grandson, John, sold it to Robert Williams. Robert already had family living at Winterborne Herringston (also above) and wanted his own little piece of Dorset, too. As with his relatives' manor, Bridehead is still owned by the Williams family. The house was altered and enlarged in the 1830s and 1850s.

Just along the lane from Littlebredy, is the beautiful Valley of the Stones National Nature Reserve, with all its stone circles, monoliths and other ancient features...

Late edit: I omitted to mention that Thomas Hardy used Bridehead as Sue's surname in Jude the Obscure...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.