BlueBird Mom

The Bluebird Parents (to be) have been very busy flying in to check on their four bright blue eggs. Since they aren't bringing food offerings, I assume that the eggs haven't hatched as yet. I'm so happy that this pair has utilized our nest box for their little family! I don't know if I mentioned it before but they (I think it was the same pair) had chicks in the same box last year. Very sadly, ants got in and killed them.  :(   We had already installed a baffle to keep snakes and other predators from climbing up the pole and into the nest. So now we've coated the pole with Vaseline to discourage the ants. Hopefully, the chicks will be safe. I'm also putting dried mealworms out for the adults. I know someone is eating them and I hope it's the Bluebirds.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.