Grubby's Blipfolio

By Grubby

Testing my macro lens

Well the sun came out today and so I decided to try out my macro lens. Having brushed up on butterflies I headed out to a local field that has a few species of butterflies at certain times of the year. They were few and far between. Most seemed intent on flying off to the next county. Why do so many butterflies just keep on flying. Luckily I chanced upon one individual that gave me the run around but did settle every so often. This is a Small Copper.

The Small Copper is a fast flying butterfly that, once settled, is unmistakable with its bright copper-coloured forewings. It is a widespread species and a familiar and welcome sight for many naturalists throughout the summer months. This butterfly occurs in discrete colonies throughout Britain and Ireland, but is absent from mountainous areas and far north-west Scotland, the Outer Hebrides and Shetland. Most colonies are fairly small, with just a few adults being seen on the wing at any one time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.