With a concern in my pocket

When I discovered that the camera could work better without me being behind it, that’s where my work really started…. When I stepped into the picture myself I was creating something that was not typical documentary, but was real in the sense of it being a document of what I was doingArno Rafael Minkkinen in Photo-wisdom: Master Photographers on Their Art (2009). (See Extra.) 

A gray, rainy, quiet day. Loving conversations with Bella and Margie. I spent a little time on Blip and found Soob saying, “I find myself retreating further into an introverted bubble of isolation.” I can relate to that. Then I fooled around with self-portraiture and yoga, bearing in mind both the words of Arno Minkkinen and Margie’s observation when I told her I am concerned for the artists and the children in this time. She said kindly, “You always have a concern in your pocket.” It’s true. I do. 

Just as I was about to post this, I heard that the mother of someone very dear to me has tested positive for Covid-19. Holding them in my heart.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.