stujphoto

By stujphoto

Water Droplets

For some years I have been interested in water droplet photography but have had to make do with fairly basic equipment such as a handheld water dropper or a constant stream of droplets. It is very hit and miss and I longed to produce some of the superb images of Corrie White. However, the cost of a move to the next stage whereby you can control the size and rate of droplets and be able to sync this with your camera was prohibitive. However with lockdown I thought this might be an opportune  moment for me to take my interest further and fortunately the cost of the water droplet control equipment had dropped considerably and certainly would be covered by the amount of money on holidays and restaurant meals that I would be normally spending.

All of my equipment finally arrived this week and yesterday I hoped to be up and running but was stymied by the complexities of firing my two flashes wirelessly and the problem of filtering the xantham gum water mixture which enables you to get sharply defined water droplet shapes. I eventually managed to sort out the problems with the wireless flashguns this morning and decided to go ahead with normal water. I am still very much at the learning stage of working out the controls on the Splash Art kit but have managed to cobble together a couple Worthington spouts, a corona and my closest approximation to the classic mushroom collision. You will have to bear with me as I pursue they interest further and you get heartedly sick of seeing water droplets 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.