Mower by the mailboxes

I saw the young woman who was driving the mower park it, get out, and go around the back, so I thought I'd take a quick shot of the mower. Just as I clicked, she came back in the frame! Oh well. I told her I tried to keep her out of the shot. Good to have the edges of the narrow roads mowed because there isn't much room to walk. I had a really good walk this morning and got home just before it started to pour. Very thankful for some rain. Some veggies that I planted a few days ago are liking this weather too and have started to sprout.
Did laundry, vacuumed, washed the kitchen and bathroom floors, and got a veggie stew ready for supper. Not sure what came over me.  :-))
G went to play his first round of golf today. He's still not sure that he should play, but there are very strict rules about physical distancing and cleaning carts. He said it went well. He had quite a scare when he was driving to town. There was a tremendous bang on the back window of the truck and he thought someone had thrown a rock or shot at him. He pulled over as soon as it was safe, and saw an owl on the road flapping its wing and two crows were attacking it. The crows must have been protecting their nest and were chasing the owl when it hit the window. He says he now understands how birds can be such a danger to planes. There were other cars coming down the road and he thinks that the owl might not have survived if it couldn't fly away before getting hit by one of them. Sad.  :-(
We were wondering how Kalyn felt about the announcement from the uni yesterday that all classes with large amounts of students will be online this September. Some smaller classes and labs may be offered in person. She feels okay about it and luckily has taken other courses online already. She isn't sure what will happen with her volleyball team. They may be able to practice if the uni is open for some classes and the season may be in the spring instead of the fall. All up in the air for now. Had a good talk with Renata too. It's been nearly 5 months since we've seen them and I can't wait to see them again - but who knows when? I know for sure after going on the short ferry ride yesterday that I won't be comfortable taking the ferry to the mainland anytime soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.