Fight or flight

At the moment when things go awry with something I’m working on I constantly feel in flight or fight mode. I inevitably fight as a) fleeing doesn’t go down well with employers and b) it’s the worst time in living memory to be fleeing anywhere. It’s a strange sensation to be having fairly often and not something that I’ve experienced often at all in the twelve years I’ve been with the organisation as I’ve always confronted things head on and been excited to resolve them. It also feels odd to have this sensation in an NGO environment working towards a cause that many of us feel passionate about. I think it must be a measure of being overwhelmed. In these situations I suppose it’s wise to acknowledge the feelings and try to understand them, rather than bury them. Once the triggers and causes are clear, decide on solutions.

I’m not sure why it looks like one of those pleasant summer evenings but was in reality deathly cold. I broke out the gloves which I’d transported back from Mozambique, fortuitously. In mid-May why wouldn’t we be breaking out the gloves once again...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.