Scribbler

By scribbler

Lost and found

I can't believe it has been weeks since I've posted. 
What a lazy, crazy time this has been.
At first I posted lots of comments.
Lately that too has slowed to a crawl.
Sorry! 

Everything seems so hard these virus days.

Whenever I take my mask off, my hearing aids get tangled in the loops and I worry that I will lose one — and it will cost several hundred dollars to replace. 

Today, I stood on line outside the grocery store in the rain. When I got inside, I checked my hearing aids and sure enough, one was missing. I went out and looked for it on the ground where I'd waited, to no avail. When I mentioned what I was looking for, a woman asked some questions about it. I think she said she was an optometrist, but she seemed to know a lot about hearing aids! Mine wasn't on the ground and it wasn't in my car. 

I went back to the store and picked up my groceries. As I was leaving, the woman appeared again, happy to find me, with my missing hearing aid in her hand! I was so grateful for her kindness. I prayed for her all evening, that her blessing would return to her many times over.

This could have been a disastrous day. I'm so thankful for the goodness of this stranger who went out of her way to help.

May I be more aware of opportunities where I can be of help. 
May I be more sensitive to the needs of strangers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.