BabyDriver

By BabyDriver

Imprisonment - Day 54

Imprisonment - Day fifty four
Thursday 14th May 2020

Cycling Statistics
Cars - 31
Motorbikes - 1
Bikes - 2
Dog walkers - 1
Walkers - 0
Runners - 0
Horses - 0
Horse walkers - 0
Molehills - 0
Cycling temperature - 0.7c

It was colder than ever this morning and Ros' car was covered in frost as were parts of the lawn. There were just one or two extra cars on the road this morning. I presume number will steadily increase over the next few days/weeks.

Today I thought I'd have a day off working on the Bentley and much to Ros' amazement joined her on her weekly shopping expedition to Stratford upon Avon. Although prior to that I cleaned her car as I can't go out in a dusty unloved looking vehicle . I also started to make some patterns for the Bentley trim.

It was the first time other than cycling my usual daily route that I've ventured out. Ros drove as she usually does if we go short distances in her car. I suppose what hit me first was the ease of getting around without traffic and the huge number of empty car park spaces. To me shopping didn't seem as bad as Ros had portrayed. Our first stop was Waitrose to pick up her new phone that she'd bought click and collect. I stayed in the car and she'd no sooner gone than came back new phone in hand. Easy peazy. Next stop was Marks and Spencer's where there was a queue to get in but again in just fifteen minutes Ros returned with a 'Dine in for two' unfortunately she could not get a duck to roast for Sunday nights tea.

Aldi was next for her main shop. Again I waited patiently in the car. It was so strange that there were so few cars and people about. I thought every one would be wearing masks but only about a quarter of people were. Cars were social distancing too as they were parked in every other parking space.

I read the news on my phone and an hour later Ros emerged with the shopping. As we continued to Lidl I said this shopping lark's easy. Ros snapped back but you haven't done any. I ate my Aldi coronation chicken sandwich with a tomato while Ros went in looking like a bandit in her mask and blue nitrile gloves. Fortunately she was only twenty minutes and we were on our way back home for a well deserved cup of tea.

It had taken three hours to shop so I don't think I will be going again as I will continue to leave it in Ros' safe nitrile gloved hands and I will continue to do my shopping on eBay.

During the afternoon I continued with my pattern making stopping now and then to think and ponder the best way foward in respect of edging and fixing it to the car etc etc. I found I needed some 3/8" brass half round bar which I managed to source on the web from a stockist in Birmingham who is calling me tomorrow with a price. During the evening I cut out the leather etc and started to sow it all together. My earlier thinking and pondering time was well spent as all the pieces started to come together nicely.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.