Looking for the beauty

By looking4beauty

Day 55 Dad

Today I woke up early and started work really early as I knew I'd got a lot to do. When I finished I showered and had dinner and checked on Matt's bike. After lowering the seat, I headed to Dad's as I haven't seen him for about 8 weeks and I'm allowed to now after the new rules came out. I'm also allowed 2 lots of exercise outside so instead of the exercise bike I thought I'd try the real thing. I went on the cycle lanes there, heading first to Meole island and then Reabrook. After crossing the river by Castlefields I took a back path behind Millers Green and came out on the main road by the Flax mill. I was really impressed by the renovation work that has been completed so far. I crossed over and went behind the Flax mill, by the park and then into Herongate. It was quite a flat ride and there was only a tiny bit on the road so I was happy! I looked through Dad's window and thought he was out but then I spotted him in the garden. He was really surprised to see me and it was lovely to see him in person after all this time. His garden looked lovely too as he's been doing lots to it during lockdown. We sat in the sun and chatted for a bit, keeping a safe distance apart, and then I headed back as he was due to go for his daily walk.
I took Dad's suggestion and cycled down Ellesmere Road and into town on the way back, sticking on the main path by the river by the busy roads and then through the Quarry, up Kingsland and home. See extra for a shot of the Welsh Bridge from Smithfield Road. This was a beautiful journey but definitely more uphill than the first one! I didn't realise how much higher up we lived on our side of town! Cycling every day has helped but I was aching when I got home.
When Chris got home, we went for our daily walk, I prepared tea, remembering to clap for key workers just in time. The weather all day was stunning again, if a little cooler than last week.
In the news, there were 428 deaths in the UK and worldwide figures have now exceeded 300,000. Worldwide, 1.5 million have recovered from coronavirus although this is just an estimate and there are probably many more.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.