Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Sunlit interior

The weather today was supposed to be cloudy but warm. Wrong on both counts. It was sunny and hot.

I probably spent too long sitting in the sun and certainly waited too long to apply lotion, but that's all irrelevant when the day turned out to be so wonderful.

It began with me passing on my shopping list to my favourite cousin (hard to believe that this is the seventh week she's done my main shopping for me). She texted me to say she was heading for the supermarket. I texted her asking if she'd have time for a coffee when she got here. She liked that idea and we sat and soaked up the sun and chatted and chatted and chatted. I'd been out earlier myself and bought a nice bunch of flowers as a thank you for her and made a bit of a fuss with the handover as she was leaving.

She left, and Carl arrived shortly afterwards for his weekly cheer-me-up visit. He came prepared to cut the grass but I'd already decided it could wait another bit, so we just sat in the sun and had a beer or two and chatted and chatted and chatted. It was only after he left and finally came back inside that I realised how much sun I'd got during the day. Lots of applications of after-sun were needed before retiring to bed, along with half a sleeping tablet to let the too-much-sun after-effects wear off as I slept.

The blip? The sun was doing nice things as it shone onto the hall carpet through the fluted glass.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.