BernardYoung

By BernardYoung

Welcome Aboard?

Noah,
who lives next door
(at number 40)
says there’s no need
to worry about a Big Flood
being sent to rid the world of evil
(Indeed? Although I wasn’t worrying
- it’s been dry for weeks).

‘No, there’ll be no flooding this time,’
says Noah.

‘Cheers Noah.
That’s good to know,’
I say.

(We were chatting over the backyard fence.
At a safe distance of course).

‘Ah no, there’ll be no flooding this time,'
says Noah once more (to reassure me?
or is he just showing off his insider knowledge?).

‘In fact, after the last deluge, when God
had got rid of all sinners and unbelievers,
He miracled a rainbow in the sky
and promised never to flood the earth again.’

‘Did he really?
That was very generous of him,’ I say.
‘Well worth applauding.’

‘First time around everything that breathed air,
and wasn’t on the Ark, died,’
Noah tells me.
(He’s in full flow now. Enjoying himself.)
‘But this time He doesn’t want to harm
all the innocent creatures.
And those of us who survive
will need meat to eat
so I guess He’s looking after us as usual.’

‘Ah, the Great Provider.
That’s very thoughtful of him,’ I say.

Noah chuckles.
He really is relishing this
but I (and I’m sure you too)
am already well aware
what he’s been alluding to.

And I don’t like it.

‘Well it’s been nice talking to you, Noah
but I fear I left the grill on
and I’ve got a bath running
so I must go. Stay alert.’

‘No need to worry about me,’
shouts Noah,
‘I’m immune!’

And I’m in.

I slam the door.


The Great Provider

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.