Guinea Pig Zero

By gpzero

Wednesday On The Corner

It's Wednesday, and the recycling bins are still scattered along the sidewalks in my neighborhood. This is the NW corner of 46th & Springfield, where Dr. Lazarus' house is again being swallowed by ivy. About five years ago, perhaps less, all the vines were cut away from the building, but now I wonder why. Only partial repairs were done at that time, as can be seen here. The former vine sheet was quite thick and it covered everything, right up to the attic level, and was spilling over to the front and rear faces. I don't know anything about Lazarus, but he's been there for ages and I believe he's still receiving patients. I attended a party in the adjacent house a few years ago and asked about him. The host didn't know much either, but she said he seemed like a nice guy.

At the far end of the block is St Francis de Sales Roman Catholic Church, the dome of which has a way of being seen from almost anywhere in the neighborhood, like a monster.

I took this picture because as I rode my bike to work, there was this smashed car. It must have come to rest where you see it during the previous night, because now there was no one bothering with it in any way. I'm sure it will be towed away within a day or two. The driver must have been injured but I somehow had the feeling that there were no fatalities. It snapped off a fire hydrant, now lying under the engine.

Evidently this car was heading West on Springfield. Another car (now gone), heading North on 46th, slammed into this car just behind the driver. One or both cars ran the stop sign.

To my right and behind me as i snapped this picture is this scene at the NE corner.

HERE is one of the many Russian car crash compilations I found on YouTube. Enjoy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.