A Day At A Time.

By ElCid

Day 63: Fugitive

I thought I would go to the Overseas supermarket in Pueblo Nuevo this morning for essential supplies, like apple sauce and jelly babies, as mentioned a while ago.

The trouble is, it is in the province of Cádiz, and I live in the province of Málaga, even though the shop is barely 10 km away.

Even when we enter Phase 1 of the deescalation of lockdown restrictions on Monday, travel between provinces is still strictly forbidden. However, I have managed the trip a couple of times before without incident.

Well, I was stopped by the Guardia Civil a total of four times! Twice on the way there (once on the Málaga-Cádiz border) and twice getting back home.

I pretended I lived rather closer to the border than I really do and they let me through. A bit of a nerve-wracking moment though, as the officer snapped a smart salute at me, while his machine-gun-toting partner stood well back in case of a sudden move on my part. (Not the sort of policeman you would try to relieve of his bicycle, I can assure you!)

At the second road block, I simply said that the first lot had let me through and the officer shrugged and waved me on.

I think I'll give that idea a miss for a while. My nerves won't take it!

Today's image was taken from the carpark of the Seaside restaurant above Playa Paraíso on the way home.

Have a safe and handcuff-free weekend.

The extra is where I was stopped the fourth time! Just found this on FB.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.