The Untrained Eye

By untrainedeye

The Downs, a Chimney and Bench 8

I’ve passed this chimney on the Downs in Bristol many times. Conveniently on our daily exercise today we passed this way again noted the Bench ( my current theme) , Mrs UE sat on it and I took this picture. Job done or.....

When I got home I checked what’s the chimney for? Looked at a map and local history and found it’s an outlet from the railway that runs under the Downs from Severn Beach and into Bristol so question answered?

Not really. I’m not going to try to tell the story of this railway. It’s more complicated than the Suspension Bridge History and that’s saying something!!

I think Mrs UEs beginning to lose interest , and the will to live, in this Bench theme so I’ll finish it at 10!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.