Bookham Common

The car is mended, the car park was open and the lockdown is eased just a little, so at last I got my walk on Bookham Common. There weren’t many people about, a few families, two or three cyclists and some solo walkers who, like me, were happy to chat, at a distance. I walked right down to the ponds because I had seen pictures of ducklings and goslings on Facebook, but when I got there they were far away on the other side of the pond. I walked round to the far side, by which time they had crossed back to my first spot! I shall go back another day! I didn’t hear the cuckoo either!
My extra shows a sign that always amuses me. As youngsters we loved to play in the woods, exploring, climbing trees, playing hide and seek. It was a natural play area. Nowadays children have a designated play area where log castles have been built for them to climb on. I suppose it keeps them from damaging the delicate areas, but it leaves little to their imagination.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.