jyoti

By jyoti

Curry leaves

Whoever knew there was such a thing as curry leaves?! Here I am living in Tanzania and I met an Indian woman who owns a spice store and I begin to discuss with her what I need for Indian cooking. After looking at recipes earlier in the week with my daughter and seeing that I was to add curry leaves, we discussed it and decided that it must mean curry powder. So then I asked this woman about curry leaves in the store, and I find out the leaves come from a curry tree! She says she will bring me some from the tree in her yard!!! So today, I had the pleasure of picking the leaves off the stem to store in my deep freeze for my Indian dishes !! Seriously, it’s so fun to interact and learn from people of a different ethnicity.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.