CV measures #58

A real rarity!
I went to my favourite local woodland today only to find the ride where I found the green crab spider last week has been raised to the ground!! I was devastated....Why oh why do they think it is OK to do such things in the summer! it just astounds me!!
Disgusted I walked up the other ride to check on the shield bugs....
Well first I found another Ornate shield bug (though it may be the same one I found last week), then wandering back I was looking at the sloe of hairy shield bugs, see extra when I noticed one a slightly different shape ....well it turned out to be Carpocoris purpureipennis, an extremely rare visitor that has only recently arrived from the continent! There are only a handful of UK records so I was well pleased and it is good evidence that this beautiful ancient woodland shouldn't be hacked about in the summer. 
If you get chance I have uploaded the last 2 days which might also be of interest.

Grateful today for ....
Evidence
My ability to fine rare and unusual things

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.