Shelduck

I walked out to the edge of the water off Kents Bank as the tide was ebbing this morning and was astonished at how much the shoreline had changed since I was last there a couple of months ago.  No longer does the grassy salt meadow slope gently down to the muddy sand of the estuary; it now drops steeply down a crumbling edge to a deep water channel of the River Kent.  I don't know if this is a temporary state brought about by recent weather or if this is a sign of the Kent channel migrating towards Grange again.

While I was there I saw someone who was either foolhardy or an expert walking way out into the bay about half way to Morecambe.  Maybe it was the official guide looking for changes in the sandbanks prior to a Baywalk.

Most of the birdlife I saw was too distant and there was a lot of shimmer in the air but this flight of shelduck did fly past heading west.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.