Eisenbahnabenteuer

A railway adventure from another age, at least that's what it feels like now.  In 2016 I had to visit a site of the aviation medicine centre of the German Air Force at Königsbrück in 2016.  I was there to view a couple of pieces of equipment to see how it would suit part of the RAF's training system.

I travelled there by train, rebelling against the convention of yet another flight each way, and it was great fun.  The German ICE trains have a view of the drive's window so you can watch the track at high speed.  This palled quickly but the seating was very comfortable and not crowded (I had paid extra for 1st Class as I had a railcard).

Almost the best aspect of the whole trip was the eating experience; Frankfurt had a food market (Extra) in the square opposite the Hauptbahnhof so I pigged it a bit on food that I hadn't had for several years.  And of course Dresden was wonderful to visit.  I am quite patriotic when I visit Germany: I can eat for Britain, you see . . .

I do miss Germany and the Germans.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.